Making the Impossible a Possibility

Vintage Book Shopping

I am currently attempting to experiment with many different forms of writing. I am hoping to utilize all sorts of media and writing styles to make my writing more prolific. I am planning on sharing pieces that I experiment with on my blog, and explaining a bit about them.

This first post is a poem based off of the picture below. I have always wanted to do a piece of writing inspired by a photograph, but I’ve never experimented with that concept before this. Here is the result.

breathe in the aroma
of a forgotten history,
silent senteniels
surveying life from their perches.

linen bound,
pages marbled,
text dull black,
paper soft whispers.

what lies hidden?
what goes unsaid?
what have these unseen tomes seen?

the covers beckon,
golden promises
glittering through the grime.
a treasure refound by eager eyes.

Comments on: "Vintage Book Shopping" (4)

  1. Beautiful post – you have a gift for words!

    • thinkerrbelle said:

      Thank you so much! That’s so sweet of you to say. ๐Ÿ™‚ I actually just glanced at your blog, too, and it was really interesting to read, because my aunt is an aesthetician, also. She never really talks about it, so it was interesting to peruse through some of your posts! Thank you so much for commenting, though. It means a lot for me when a total stranger {adult…oh, I’m so sorry, this is starting to sound weird} comments on my writing, seeing as I’m only a teenager and still have yet to initiate an audience. So thank you so much for taking the time to type to me!

  2. This is really beautiful, Sarah! Your imagery is, in particular. Also, I’m not sure if this is just the style of the poem, but I think that not capitalizing the first letters of each line really enhances the feel of the piece. It makes it flow very well. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. thinkerrbelle said:

    Thank you, Jenna! ๐Ÿ˜€ It’s so nice to know that you follow my blog. I’m glad you enjoyed my poem! It’s always so difficult to try a new form of writing, at first, but I’m slowly getting used to using different styles.

Leave a Reply

